Metformin /Type 1

22 posts, 12 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

Paul G Wales DAFNE Graduate
Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board
8 posts

Hi ive just finished my Dafne 5 day today and graduated , i enjoyed and learnt a lot i didnt know , and got rid of some stupid myths and alot of old scholl of thought ! , i asked a million questions , all execpt one !!

im due to start taking Metformin 1 per day next week

how will this effect my insulin - carb ratio/ intake if at all im just getting my levels to within DAFNE range so need advice ASAP

DavidJ DAFNE Graduate
Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust
23 posts

Hi Paul
I'm not a healthcare professional just another type 1 diabetic who takes Metformin. Metformin increases your sensitivity to insulin so it is likely that your blood glucoses will drop if you continue with the same ratios. I take 500mg of Metformin twice a day and if I forget and miss a dose my blood glucose rises as if I should have moved my ratio up by another 0.5. Most of my ratios are 1:1, if I didn't have the Metformin they would probably be 1.5:1. This example is just my experience though. Just apply the DAFNE principles and find your new ratios and background. Best of luck. Dave.

Simon Heller DAFNE HCP
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals
46 posts

Hi Paul. David's advice is quite correct, just use the principles to adjust to new insulin doses and background. Actually you may find they don't change much, the amount to which metformin will affect the amount of insulin you will need is very variable.
Simon

Linda S123 8 posts

Hi, Im about to do the same anf start taking metformin tablet, starting with one a day in morning and go on to twice daily and take it from there, Should I drop my insulin dose forst and work from there or take the chance of lows and correct as it goes ?

novorapidboi26 DAFNE Graduate
NHS Lanarkshire
1,819 posts