rice and pasta

5 posts, 5 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

Lyane DAFNE Graduate
Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust
1 post

Hi was wondering if you may be able to help as I am getting very confused, and it really doesnt take much to confuse me!! I am a very new graduate of DAFNE and am finding it really tricky to calculate how much insulin (QA) to do for rice... so 100g uncooked rice is 8.5 CPS and 100g cooked rice is 3CPS I understand the CPS would be less for cooked rice as water would dilute the carbohydrate portion but which cp number should I use to inject with? As obviously there is a big varient, and I find my blood sugars just go mad with either uncooked or cooked.

Hope someone can help thanks Confused

novorapidboi26 DAFNE Graduate
NHS Lanarkshire
1,819 posts

2 scenarios:

1. Your have a sachet of Uncle Bens rice.............as you personally will be consuming all of this rice alone, the uncooked carbohydrate amount can be used, as cooked or uncooked, its all going in your mouth.

2. You and 3 other family members are having sweet and sour chicken with rice, you are cooking with a 600g bag of rice. As you wont be having the whole bag of rice, you will need to weigh out your portion, this time the cooked value will need to be used as now your portion of rice has transformed into a much heavier item on the scales.

I hope I got the point across................in the event you are eating an unknown portion size of rice which will be cooked and served from one large family size portion, then you use the cooked value. [unless you weigh yours out and cook separately]

So in your case of 100g of uncooked rice being 8.5 CPs, the 100g when cooked would then go up to roughly 300g in weight.