Hyperglycaemia in early hours of the morning

8 posts, 5 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

eelong 3 posts

Type 1 diabetes for ~4 years
Insulin: Lantus & Novorapid
Activity level: high - regular exerciser, sports participation and active job (Personal Trainer by profession for last two months)

I am struggling with elevated blood sugar in the mornings. I generally have good control over my blood sugars (all my HbA1C tests have been between 6.5 and 7.5) but my readings before breakfast are always high. In the last two months I have increased my training intensity as I have begun a resistance training programme; and things seem to be getting a bit worse.

I am finding myself waking up a lot more frequently between 02:00am and 04:00am needing to go to the toilet due to high blood sugar. Sometimes when I wake up in these early hours of the morning needing to pee, I will do an injection to try and bring me back down by the time breakfast comes around - but my blood sugar doesn't seem to change, and sometimes i end up even higher by breakfast time! I've been gradually increasing my lantus does to try and counter high blood sugar during the night but this hasn't seemed to have done anything yet. I have done a little bit of research about elevated blood sugar in the morning and I think I am struggling with either the Dawn Effect or the Somogyi Effect.

I know that the biggest HGH secretion comes during deep sleep and that HGH has a countering effect on the action of insulin. So would higher levels of HGH (induced by all this resistance exercise I'm now doing) be the cause of my elevation in blood sugar in the mornings?

Shall I just keep increasing my lantus (and reducing my novorapid doses during the day) to try and lower the nighttime blood sugar levels?
Or would splitting my lantus doses help?

Any thoughts/advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
Tom

novorapidboi26 DAFNE Graduate
NHS Lanarkshire
1,819 posts

Hi,