novo-rapid insulin duration

6 posts, 3 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

paulj DAFNE Graduate
Northumbria Healthcare Trust
36 posts

by my understanding the above quick-acting insulin has onset period of less than 15 minutes. a peak between 50 and 90 minutes and a duration of up to 5 hours. not trying to be to technical is it known in percentage terms how this time period is broken down ie how much insulin is still to be used after a meal which was consumed say 4 hours ago and 10 units of the above insulin was used in total? why i ask is that as a bus driver i work various shift patterns and on some occassions will have another meal break within the total effective period of this insulin which in turn would i suspect have a bearing on my next insulin dosage to combat my next meal/snack.obviously if i take to much and go to low i.e below 4mll i would be unable to drive.iam curious if anyone could shed any light on this matter or whether i am looking to deeply into the above.any thoughts would be much appreciated

cheers paulj Very Happy

Apollo DAFNE Graduate
Queen Mary Hospital, Sidcup
45 posts

Hi Paul,

just another bumbling graduate rather than a HCP here but I think it's pretty hard to give set guidelines on how much of your insulin is spent and how much is still working. as a VERY rough guide there is the graph in the DAFNE handbook which I suspect you have seen already as some of what you said is almost a direct quote from it.

As a rough guide though you can see by hour 3 there is very little life left in it and by hour 4 you can almost assume it's all gone as a general rule. There are however a number of factors that can change how quickly the insulin will work, some are down to your physiology, some are environmental so that can only ever be taken as a rough guide and certain not something to do precision maths with to keep you just above 4mmols