How do you caluculate...

4 posts, 4 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

Gill28 1 post

Hello,

I'm a final year Design student, trying to design a device which make it alot easier for diabetics to manage their food.
I'm trying to understand how DAFNE actually works.
I'd be very grateful if someone could please take the time just to quickly explain what DAFNE involves and what calculations you have to make in order to work out how much insulin you need to take?

Cheers,

Gill

NiVZ DAFNE Graduate
NHS Grampian
82 posts

Hi Gill,

DAFNE covers a wide range of topics, including illness, alcohol, as well as food.

For the food part of things it's just a case of applying a ratio of insulin to carbohydrate. In DAFNE 1CP (Carbohydrate Portion) is 10g of carbs. Therefore a 1:1 ration means 1 unit of insulin to 10g of carbs. Some people will be on 2:1, so thats 2 units to 10g or even 0.5:1 so thats half a unit for 10g.

There are already Carboydrate counting scales, such as the Salter Nuri-weigh range which can help with these calculations but I suppose this could be extended by allowing you to enter your ratio and the device could tell you how much insulin to take although the maths is usually quite easy. Just divide food label carbohydrate by 10 to turn g into CP (and divide or multiply by the portion size if necessary, especially if they've used 'nutrition onfo per 100g' for example) and then multiply by ratio.

Hope that helps and good luck with your device.

NiVZ

sphillips DAFNE HCP
University Hospitals, Leicester
24 posts