Unexplained Rise - Help!

4 posts, 4 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

CheekyWaffle DAFNE Graduate
Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
1 post

Can anyone tell me why this food might be causing such a rise in my BG levels please? I am a DAFNE graduate and still just cannot explain it! I'm probably still in honeymoon which I know can be a bit unpredictable, but even so, I can't explain this.

Soon after diagnoses, for breakfast I swtiched from oatbran to chai pudding to avoid the massive spike from the oats (no matter what type). The chai pudding only rose me by a few mmol/Ls, no insulin or exercise needed. All fine for a few months. But the last few weeks the chai pudding hads been raising me by ridiculous amounts (e.g. from 5mmol/Ls to 11mmol/Ls) needing either lots of time, exercise or insulin to bring it down.

I have checked and double checked my carb counting but cannot find any mistakes:

Chai pudding carbs:
40g frozen raspberries - 2.1g carbs
15g chai seeds - 0.4g carbs
3g Options hot choc powder - 2.16g carbs
200ml Unsweetened Almond Milk - 0.4g carbs
1tsp sweetner - 0.5g carbs
1 heaped dessert spoon Alpro no sugar yoghurt - 0.0 g carbs
Total carbs =5.56g carbs

I am aware protein can spike too, especially as I am low carb. But the protein is low:
Can anyone tell me why this food might be causing such a rise in my BG levels please? I am a DAFNE graduate and still just cannot explain it! I'm probably still in honeymoon which I know can be a bit unpredictable, but even so, I can't explain this.

Soon after diagnoses, for breakfast I swtiched from oatbran to chai pudding to avoid the massive spike from the oats (no matter what type). The chai pudding only rose me by a few mmol/Ls, no insulin or exercise needed. All fine for a few months. But the last few weeks the chai pudding hads bee raising me by ridiculous amounts (e.g. from 5mmol/Ls to 11mmol/Ls) needing either lots of time, exercise or insulin to bring it down.