DAFNE Follow-Up Course - No Help?

9 posts, 5 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

Simon Quinnell DAFNE Graduate
Maidstone & Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust
16 posts

HI Everyone,

Yesterday I attended a DAFNE follow-up course at my local hospital. I have been to a number of them since I graduated in 2007. However, on this occasion I was able to participate in the Q&A session at the end of the course. I raised a question about how I can use DAFNE principles to achieve good BG levels with a variable routine. To my surprise one of the DAFNE Diabetes Nurses replied, "Sorry I can't answer that question, because DAFNE principles are not designed for variable routines!"

Let me explain my variable routine. I read water meters (Mon-Fri) for a living. That means sometimes I can be walking for up to six hours day. On another occasion I could be walking for three hours and driving for three hours. Also, I could be in a team meeting most of the day, and getting no exercise. If it's the weekend, it changes again, perhaps with some activity Saturday, and a quiet day Sunday.

At the moment, I use a combination of ratios (0.5:1, 0.67:1, 1:1, and 1.5:1) and take into account my previous days exercise, and the activity level I anticipate for the day ahead. However, I often select the wrong ratios because I don't know how my body will react to the previous days exercise or lack of it! There are no consistent patterns with my BGs. Sometimes they're high (13-15), sometimes too tight (3-4).

I know my lifestyle is complex, but I was surprised that no help was forthcoming. So now I'm thinking, what's the point of using DAFNE principles? I'm just doing a guessing game!

Some background info. I have daily injections of Humalog before meals, and Levemir before bed, and before breakfast.

Doers anyone have any suggestions as to what I might do?

Thanks for your help!

Simon.

Warwick DAFNE Graduate
Diabetes Australia-Vic, Melbourne, Victoria
421 posts

Hi Simon,