Levemir issues

54 posts, 6 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

MelissaF DAFNE Graduate
South West Essex PCT
56 posts

Hi,

I've been a DAFNE graduate for the last 3.5 years. I've found it really helpful and it definitely helped my HbA1cs initially. However, I now have a 2 year old and, since having him, I've found that my control has worsened a lot - I think simply because life is much more hectic than it used to be and I spend less time looking after myself.

I've been trying to get things back on track again and my DAFNE educator suggested that I switch from Lantus to Levemir for my BI. I've been using it for about 5 months now and I still can't get the hang of it. It's difficult to explain but I feel that my results on it are much less predictable than on the Lantus and I seem to be getting many more extreme highs than I feel that I used to on the Lantus with less justification. It feels like I get a more extreme reaction with highs and lows and obviously what I'm striving for is a more constant level. Just as I think that I've got the right BI levels and it seems to be working, I need to alter them again for seemingly no reason. There seems to be no consistancy.

In particular I'm having a real problem with my BG results first thing in the morning. I'm waking each morning with readings of 15 and above and increasing my evening BI doesn't seem to be having an effect.

I also find it hard having 2 injections of BI a day as I find it less easy to judge doses.