Night hypo and Morning BG

13 posts, 6 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

Ffi010 DAFNE Graduate
King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
8 posts

I had a hypo in the night at 4am and I was 2.3! I woke up and treated the hypo with 5 dextrose and 3cp,s.
I woke as normal at 8am and I was 22.2!
I understand that through the dafne principals that I should not adjust my insulin, but at 22.2 I was worried that I was going to be high throughout the day. I was. I didn't go below 13 the whole day even though I adjusted my dose at lunch when I was 13.8.
It wasn't until next morning that I was back to single figures.
Is that normal? Did I do the right thing or should I have adjusted it earlier on??
Thank you

novorapidboi26 DAFNE Graduate
NHS Lanarkshire
1,819 posts

Hey fifi,

I am just a graduate but like to give my opinion.....

When you woke up low, the correct action to take is 2CPs of quick acting, then test again if you still feel low. If you need more, take another 2.

How many CPs is 5 dextrose tablets and then a further 3 CPs?....... (that may be slow releasing/high GI)

That might be why you were high, maybe together with your bodily response of releasing glucose post hypo and an increased resistance to insulin in the morning.

Is your background right?

I ask this firstly as you went low in the early hours and secondly stayed high after lunch even after correction.

Assuming its a slpit dose you might need to adjust your am and pm doses. Less at night, more in the morning.

If it was me I would have corrected in the morning and just been vigilant in detecting a hypo, but thats just me.

Its all speculation remember, and HCP should give you there opinion.

Nat DAFNE Graduate
Cambridge University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
30 posts