Can't figure out what I'm doing wrong

9 posts, 4 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

Caimin DAFNE Graduate
St Vincent's Healthcare Group
4 posts
[Shared diary only visible when logged in]

Hi Folks -

I'm a recent DAFNE graduate, and prior to the week I was on 40 BI and roughly 30 QA per day, with not great control. My last HB1aC was 9.4%

For the week of DAFNE, I went to 22 BI and QA ratio of 1:1 and typically, while I was doing the course, my bloods were pretty good.
However in the last ten days or so, it feels like I've lost all control and I cannot see what I'm doing wrong. I've gone back up to 26 BI and 3:1 ratio and my bloods are constantly over 10. I wake with a BG of something like 13, take a correction of +4 NovoRapid and two hours later my bloods have gone up.

At the moment, I can only think of two possibilities: I've wrecked my insulin (I store it on the bottom shelf of the fridge) or I've coincidentally become super-resistant to insulin in the last two weeks. Just today, at 4pm I had BG of 12, took 15 QA out of frustration and two hours later my bloods had dropped by maybe 2.

If anyone can offer any advice, i'd be grateful. I feel like such a failure at the moment.

thanks,
Caimin

JayBee DAFNE Graduate
James Paget University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
587 posts

It is very puzzling to look at... try not to be disheartened though. Keep working at it.

Besides the one off good result during the day, your results do seem to be fairly consistent - I mean, looking at the last day (7/12), 10 - 12 is not that much difference. This suggests that you mainly need to put your BI up... but saying that, your 5/12 results are very strange.

With this...

How are you feeling? Have you been testing for ketones? There is also the possibly that illness could be affecting your insulin responses.
The common cold affected me recently so it's a thought that comes to mind. Sad