Travel to Sri Lanka

6 posts, 4 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

lucy1gus2 DAFNE Graduate
Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust
12 posts

Am on a night flight with no doubt a late evening meal and arriving at destination at lunchtime.Time difference is about 5 hours and flight time is 10 hours.
What adjustments do I need to make? Normally Lantus am & pm and quick acting for mealtimes.
I am leaning towards no Lantus at night but what about morning ? Do I run high until I reach destination and back to normal ?
Any assistance appreciated
Thanks

novorapidboi26 DAFNE Graduate
NHS Lanarkshire
1,819 posts

i have no experience with such long journeys but I would be looking to try and keep your timings the same, at least until you get to your destination..........at least with the basal....

if you wont be getting your meals at the normal times then that's OK, that's the beauty of novoarapid/humalog....

you just need to make sure you are still getting the full coverage of Lantus.....

once you get there you can decide how to adjust the Lantus timing so it fits in with the new time zone......this will likely mean you either going without the Lantus for a short period or giving yourself a dose earlier and therefore doubling up on the dose............so you would need to either compensate with a little extra novorapid if you are taking your Lantus later or take less mealtime insulin if your taking your Lantus early....

i hope that makes sense, im getting confused myself reading back....ha ha....

lucy1gus2 DAFNE Graduate
12 posts

Thanks for that.
There is certain to be a bit of a hiccup with readings at the start but I will be testing more than normal

michaelj DAFNE Graduate
South East Kent PCT
45 posts