Libre sensors - problems

10 posts, 6 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

Sally Mac DAFNE Graduate
King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
27 posts

Hi All, it seems as if a number of people are having problems using the Libre sensors at the moment. We have had a few emails sent via the admin email box which is fine except nobody else can see your question or the answers.

I'm sorry for those who are having problems using this device, would you be willing to share your stories so others can learn from your experiences? Perhaps somebody has the answers?

I look forward to seeing new posts about this soon. Have a great day all.

flash DAFNE Graduate
University Hospital of Derby & Burton NHS FT
2 posts

Hi everyone. My first time on this forum. I have been using Freestyle Libre system for at least a couple of years since we were first able to justify getting them on prescription. Unfortunately I often have sensors fail when I am changing them. When the needle is punched into my arm it bends through a right angle. I have pictures but can't see here how to post them here sadly. Unfortunately you don't know they are bent until an hour later which is the time period you have to wait before the reader will read the new sensor. So, it is a real pain. I have even had one sensor fall to bits internally (unbeknown to me) and I ended up punching nothing into my arm, again only discovered an hour later. This week I experienced something new. The sensor did work for a couple of days and then failed but I don't know why.