Which Blood Meter

10 posts, 6 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

Mark Duncan DAFNE Graduate
NHS Lanarkshire
4 posts

How Do

I was wondering if anybody had a any recommendations on a good blood meter. I have been using a Freestyle Mini for tha last 5 years since doing my DAFNE course but have been asked by my GP practice to go and get a new one. I'm sure that the 1 I use is now a bit dated and was just looking to see if there was any advice on a newer one that anybody might suggest because I will probably be updating it.

Cheers

NiVZ DAFNE Graduate
NHS Grampian
82 posts

Hello,

I posted a link to lots of different blood glucose meters here:

http://www.diabetessupport.co.uk/boards/showpost.php?p=76872&postcount=13

Just click on the meter name to see the manufacurers web pages to see which ones you fancy.

Personally, I use OneTouch UltraSMART and UltraEASY as my main meters and I also liked the Bayer Contour USB. Of all the meters, the UltraSMART is the one I feel fits DAFNE best as you can record insulin and carbs on it, but it is a bit bigger to carry around.

NiVZ

Mark Duncan DAFNE Graduate
NHS Lanarkshire
4 posts

Cheers man

I will have a wee looky looky at them and see whats what

Garry DAFNE Graduate
North Lincolnshire and Goole NHS Foundation Trust
328 posts

I have used an Abbot Medisense Optium Xceed for the last few years. Their support for me personally has been exceptional.
If you are handy on the confuser....sorry COMPUTER....their latest software, called Co-Pilot, allows you to download all info from the meter to computer via a specific USB lead, both available free to Abbot meter users, to produce graphs for information in many different formats to HCPs.
This software also supports pump users too.

Have a look at: -

www.abbottdiabetescare.co.uk/inspired.../copilot-software

for further info to see if it matches your personal needs.

Regards Garry

Stew B DAFNE Graduate
Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital
125 posts