highs

4 posts, 3 contributors

Search the DAFNE Online Forums

ruthhiggins DAFNE Graduate
St Luke's General Hospital, Carlow-Kilkenny
3 posts

I am a new graduate and only doing dafne 4 weeks. the first 3 weeks were great and I couldnt believe how great dafne was. I was coming in between 4 and 7 and the odd high was corrected easily. For the last 3 days my bloods are high 14's 10's etc and I cant explain them, there was a meal were I ate out and guessed the cp but i wouldnt have been to far out correction worked a little but now as much as it was working initially. I would have came down by 2-3 with 1unit of qa before but now it might just come down 1 . the only thing thats changed is i have been snacking more so between meals I am having cp's but am taking my 1:1 ratio for them. previously I snacked on choc and it didnt affect my next blood. I dont know whats going on. could my ratio randomly need changing when 4 days ago it worked perfectly. Im not sick but have put up a few pound which I needed. Can anyone help, feeling disappointed

Warwick DAFNE Graduate
Diabetes Australia-Vic, Melbourne, Victoria
422 posts

Hello Ruth. There are lots of things that can change how much insulin you need. Things like stress, illness, menstrual cycle, lack of exercise can all contribute to higher BGLs. I personally find that when I snack more, I actually need to increase my basal. It seems that my body releases more glucose into the blood stream overnight when I have been snacking the previous days. When I drop the snacking, I need to reduce my basal insulin to avoid hypos.

I'd suggest keeping an eye on this, and if need be, increasing your basal insulin slightly. If your BGLs are always higher than normal, then a basal insulin increase is indicated (remember, just 10% change and wait for three days before further increases). If it is only after meals that your BGLs are higher than normal, then you may need to increase your QA ratio before the problematic meals.